Traffic Tickets in San Antonio
I am under Twenty Five (25) years old or Eighteen (18) years old...Now What?
On September 1, 2005 the Texas Senate passed SB 1005 which created a variety of requirements for young drivers. These were codified in Article 45.051 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. See:
Texas Department of Public Safety
Basically, if you are under Twenty-Five (25) the law REQUIRES
you to complete a driver safety course (DSC) for any moving violation. If you are under Eighteen (18) you are required to do both a driver safety course and a road test. Violating these provisions will be a conviction.
The expenses on these driver safety courses will add up...not only will you have to pay the court fees (court costs and fines), but then you will have to pay a private agency a sum of money to take a driver safety course and pay for a certificate. A DSC also takes time, usually between 4-6 hours. Some courts will also require you to demonstrate proof of your driving record from the Department of Public Safety.
Boiled down: COURT COSTS + FINE + DSC + CERTIFICATE + DRIVING RECORD + TIME = $$$ = NO GOOD!!!
With our help, we can guide you through these confusing laws, and, in many cases, help you to avoid these needless expenses.
What happens if I have an Insurance Violation?
Section 601.001 of the Texas Transportation Code provides for the Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act.
A conviction for Failing to Provide Proof Financial Responsibility (FPPFR) under this section can result in Criminal Penalties (Subchapter G), Suspension of your Driver’s License and Motor Vehicle Registration (Subchapter H), Impoundment of your Vehicle (Subchapter I), Reinstatement Fees, and Surcharges (section 708.103). The Surcharges alone will amount to $250.00 PER YEAR
Most People do not realize that in Texas, you only need to demonstrate PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY
. You can do so by showing ONLY ONE OF THE FOLLOWING
-Proof of motor vehicle liability insurance policy (under 601, Subchapter D)
-A Surety Bond with the Department of Public Safety (under 601.121)
-A Deposit of Cash or Securities with the Comptroller (under 601.122)
-A Deposit of Cash or Cashier’s Check with County Judge (under 601.123)
-Self-Insurance (for persons whose name more than 25 motor vehicles are registered) (under 601.124)
We know the law...we can help...we are ticket fighters. There is no reason for you to suffer the headache, stress, and financial penalties these cases bring.
What are Surcharges?
Surcharges are a fancy way for the Government to take even more money from your wallet. In 2003, the Texas Legislature began the Driver Responsibility Program with Section 708 of the Texas Transportation Code. Each year, the Department of Public Safety assesses surcharges against persons who received final convictions on certain offenses.
These surcharges are separate from court costs and fines that you may have to pay with the court...these are paid to the Department of Public Safety! If you fail to pay these surcharges, DPS will DENY THE RENEWAL OF YOUR TEXAS DRIVER’S LICENSE!
(To which you will then have to pay MORE MONEY
to reinstate your driver’s license ON TOP of the surcharges).
There are MANY WAYS TO GET SURCHARGES!!!
Moving Violations: Convictions for any moving violation will create “points” on your driving record. Once you have accrued six points, you will be surcharged $100 for the first six points and $25 for each additional point thereafter.
Intoxication Violations: In short, if you refused a breathalyzer, you can expect to be surcharged $1,000 per year for up to three (3) years. If you had a second or subsequent conviction relating to the operation of a motor vehicle while intoxicated, you can expect to be surcharged $1,500 per year for up to three (3) years. AND, if you ever provide or have taken from you a sample of your blood, breath, or urine and the test shows a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above 0.16, DPS will surcharge you $2,000.00 per year for up to three (3) years.
Driving While License Invalid: Convictions carry a surcharge of $250.00 per year.
Failing to Provide Proof of Financial Responsibility: Convictions carry a surcharge of $250.00 per year.
Driving Without Valid License: Convictions carry a surcharge of $100 per year up to three (3) years.
DO NOT GIVE THE GOVERNMENT ANOTHER OPPORTUNITY TO TAKE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY.
Our experienced Attorneys can prevent these needless expenses from ever resulting. Let us fight your case.